Mindbenders, The

With Woman In Mind + 11 Bonus Tracks

NuMusi Records NuMusi Records NuMusi Records
Mindbenders, The - With Woman In Mind + 11 Bonus Tracks
Künstler:   Mindbenders, The
Titel:   With Woman In Mind + 11 Bonus Tracks
Stil / Musikrichtung:   Beat
Erscheinungsjahr:   2001
Format:   CD
Preis:   8.90 €
Label:   GDR
play   zurück
kaufen   kaufen

Pre - 10CC

Original release 1968
Re-issue 2001 GoDown
+ 11 Bonus Tracks !!!

You have to sort of pity the Mindbenders -- the group, which had seemed destined for success, had fared so poorly since "A Groovy Kind of Love" that their second LP, With Women in Mind, barely got heard, despite its being as strong as anything that the Kinks were putting out on LP in 1967. The album picks up where the group's first, self-titled album left off, comprised of generally bracing rock & roll with a soul edge and a sense of humor, as well as a solid layer of inventiveness. Ric Rothwell's highly ornamented drumming holds everything together, giving Eric Stewart and Bob Lang room to add their elegant flourishes and, in Stewart's case, moments of impressive flash, as well. They turn in a convincing R&B-laced rendition of the Goffin/King-composed "Honey and Wine," which is highlighted by killer vocals and a nicely understated guitar break, while "Schoolgirl," which got them banned by the BBC (over its allegedly lascivious tale of teen pregnancy), is an astonishingly catchy number that ought to have had enough hooks to get heard over here. And their cover of Donnie Elbert's "A Little Piece of Leather" is so beguiling with its jagged, angular, quasi-psychedelic guitar break around the catchy chorus that it's almost worth the price of the album by itself. ~ Bruce Eder, All Music Guide

Track Listing:

1. To Be or Not to Be
2. Honey and Wine
3. Schoolgirl
4. Little Piece of Leather
5. Shotgun
6. I Want Her She Wants Me
7. Mystery Train
8. Morning After
9. Homework
10. Airport People
11. Cool Jerk

12. Ashes to Ashes

Bonus tracks:

13. School Girl (single version)
14. Coming Back
15. Blessed Are The Lonely
16. Yellow Brick Road
17. Uncle Joe The Ice Cream Man
18. The Man Who Loved Trees

From German TV Show:
19. Don't Cry No More ( Live)
20. Land Of 1000 Dances (Live)
21. In The Midnight Hour (Live)
22. See See Rider / Jenny Jenny (Live)
23. A Groovy Kind Of Love (Live)

play   zurück
kaufen   kaufen
    New Music - Green Tree     Valid HTML 4.01!     Valid CSS!